I’ll Send an S.O.S. to the World…

Every author has to sit back at some point and think about what message they’re sending with their work.

Aww, man? Do I really have to!?

Yes, you do. There are people in this world who can turn the most innocent of instances into a careless display of privilege or a malicious attack on traditional morality. The only option for us authors is to write the blandest, most mind-numbingly uninteresting piece of works ever to grace the face of the earth! Nothing can happen in fiction, because anything that does can have Unfortunate Implications, and that’s terrible.

That’s why I’ve recently scrapped all my works in favour of my new masterpiece: ‘A Page Is Being Read’ in which the words ‘a page is being read’ are repeated over and over again, twenty-thousand times over until the reader cannot help but retain its timeless message.

… or not.

Yeah, I’m not a big fan of ‘message’ books. Frankly, it all boils down to either ‘bad stuff is bad’, or ‘I am vindicated in disliking this thing I dislike because in this book I’ve written the thing I dislike DESTROYS THE WORLD!’ That’s not to say books can’t be written with a message in its underlying themes, though mine certainly aren’t, it’s just that people like me don’t like being talked down to.

I’ve often thought that there are certain kinds of people who just differ from each other. Things like one person being offended by a particular behaviour, another feeling condescended to if the same behaviour is not applied. Sadly ‘tolerance’ doesn’t just mean that everyone else has to tolerate us. It’s a two-way street, and you can’t please everyone.

So whatever messages (in bottles or otherwise) people may take from my works when they are eventually inflicted on the world are their own. I’m too lazy to send stuff on purpose.

Tune in further on in the week for more of my utterly profound wisdom that I’m sure no one’s ever thought of before, and if you disagree with me then you’re a big meanie and I’ll make you a villain in my next book!

(Not really. I like my villains too much to do that–I’ll make you a sidekick instead, how’s that for a comeback, huh?)

3 thoughts on “I’ll Send an S.O.S. to the World…

  1. M. C. Dulac says:

    Hi Rachel! I’ve just nominated your blog for a new blogger Liebster award! Details here:
    http://mcdulac.wordpress.com/2013/10/08/the-liebster-award/
    Keep posting 🙂

    Like

    • rachelloon says:

      Oh, wow, thank you! I’m not sure I’ll be able to participate (I don’t think I’ve yet found 10 other really good blogs with less than 200 followers–all the ones I’m following are good, but most have over 200 followers) but I’ll answer the questions for you and link back when I get home from work this evening!

      Thank you very much!

      Like

Leave a Reply

