The Return of the Dark Lord

… by which I mean the return of me.

Yes, I’m back–NaNo ate my life for the last month but it all paid off when I won with 72,341 words; I’m now about two thirds of the way through the book, or just under. Then three days ago the prizes were announced, and I’ve decided since I have nothing better to do, to take advantage of the ‘two free copies of your book from createspace’ and spend this weekend publishing my book on CreateSpace.

DUN DUN DUN!

Yes, although it won’t be my NaNo project that gets published, as I just said it’s not finished, I will be publishing Rooks this weekend, so if it sounds like your kind of thing, buy it as a Christmas gift for your friends! If it sounds like the most wretched thing you could ever think of, buy it as a Christmas gift for your enemies! Just buy it when it comes out, all right!

The main reason I’m choosing to self-publish is, frankly, I’m bored. Agents take 6-8 weeks on average to respond (if they even do, which is rare), and even if I did get picked up there’s no guarantee it would make the book do well. At least this way I can get it done fast, plus I’ll earn more royalties if it does take off. If it doesn’t… well, I have other books-in-waiting I can unleash on the unsuspecting public.

So, the self-publishing adventure begins. What foul beasts can I expect to conquer on my travels? Find out… at some point!

In the meantime we can continue to do mediocre pictures and shallow book commentaries on this blog, for as long as my little heart desires. So come along to find out how the devious outpourings of my unsound mind fare in the vast world of YA indie books, and hear more of upcoming titles, which will come up as soon as I get around to finishing them.

Until then… >:)

Leave a Reply

