Missing Word Stoies: HMS Supercalifragi-etc.

You know what period of history I love? Age of Sail. Master and Commander: The Far Side of the World is one of my very favourite movies ever, and watching it made me pick up the book series in a snap, though I never finished the series. I think it’s nineteen books long after all, and it can be very heavy in places; old Patrick O’Brian put like a zillion times more research into his books than I’ve ever done.

Still, back in ye old days of the summer of 2005 when I was crazy for missing word stories, what better story to take some words out of, I thought, than one of what at the time was one of my favourite series? Unlike my earlier stories, this one is semi-original, in that the ‘plot’ isn’t taken from any of the Aubrey-Maturin books or from the movie–but I think I captured the feel of one of those books.

If that book was only one page long and had about 10% of the words removed and then replaced at random by someone who had no idea what the story was about, of course.

HMS Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious

And, if the story itself wasn’t exciting enough for you, (including the surprise (please no puns, Jack) alien-invasion ending: remember, I was also H.G. Wells-obsessed at the time) behold the illustration; wherein Nack and Stephen are first alerted to the sight of the enemy French tap ‘Unconscious‘, while on the deck of their own ‘HMS Supercalifragilisticexpialidoshus’. Note that part of another illustration is creeping into that one, because I never expected to be showing them separately.

Also note how ‘Nack’ and Stephen are holding hands, because of course I shipped them like crazy.

HMS Illustrated

That’s all the fluff for today,  my dear friends and mortal enemies; hopefully by the weekend I will finally, finally follow up on my Hugo Awards post from last month.

3 thoughts on “Missing Word Stoies: HMS Supercalifragi-etc.

  1. jabrush1213 says:

    I like the drawings you add into your stories. It adds visual to what is going on.

    Like

  2. jabrush1213 says:

    I nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award! The details are here in this post https://jabrushblog.wordpress.com/2015/05/24/the-versatile-blogger-award/

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

