Worst-Case Scenario

Today we found human remains in a box under my desk at work. Oh, sure it was an anatomical model skeleton that was supposed to be there, and apparently his name is George, but things like this are invariably bad news. Not because it means I’ve been unknowingly working next to a corpse for the past two months, no, it’s much worse than that. Much, much worse. The worst possible thing that can happen on this blog.

Yes, I’m afraid it’s inspired another novel–my lucky number ninth on the pile of (forever) unfinished novels that, let’s face it, is probably going to become this year’s NaNoWriMo project even though I said I’d finally put some work into the sequel to ‘Rooks of the Knot‘.

To make up for it, I’m going to attempt to make this post interesting. First: a picture of the notes I made when I was thinking of the research I’d need to do for this novel–

Research

And then, the covers of the books I’ve bought in anticipation of doing this research at some point–

https://i2.wp.com/ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/41MrV0WYHsL._SX317_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

https://i0.wp.com/www.forgottenbooks.com/bookcover/0240/Life_in_the_Medieval_University_1000815389.jpg

https://i2.wp.com/www1.alibris-static.com/the-towns-of-italy-in-the-later-middle-ages/isbn/9780719052040_l.jpg

https://i2.wp.com/ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/51QY6RRXZQL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

https://i2.wp.com/ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/51p0CokTqcL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

So, what is this novel about? What kind of characters will be contained within, what’s the genre, what are the themes and the devices? What books might I also be planning to use for research that I already own from way back in ye olde days of University that I therefore would have had no reason the jot down in my notes above and that you, therefore, would have no idea might be relative to the novel, making this particular question exceedingly pointless?

That, my friends (and mortal enemies), will remain a mystery, to linger in your disquieted minds until you can think of nothing else, sinking deeper and deeper into an obsession from whence there will be no return! Abandon all hope, ye who read these words!

Anyway, George and I are going to watch Say Yes to the Dress now. See you next time, reprobates!

One thought on “Worst-Case Scenario

  1. jabrush1213 says:

    All good points in what happens when you open a book.

    Like

Leave a Reply

