Don’t You Understand What I’m Comma Trying To Say?

Technology marches on, and after a long time trying to decide whether I was too lazy to learn how to use Voice Typing, or whether I was lazy enough that Voice Typing itself would save more effort in the long run than not being bothered to look into it would, I took the plunge and bought myself a wireless headset + mic to start talking to myself like a crazy person!

Only this time I was wearing the headset, so I didn’t look quite so crazy.

To test it, I read aloud one of my favourite poems–Ozymandias by Percy Bysshe Shelley. These were the results (mistakes in italics; corrections in square brackets):

I met a traveller from an antique land

Who’s there had two vast entrance Westlake’s of stone [said, vast and trunkless]

Stand in the desert near them on the sand

Have sent a shattered visage lies, his brown [half-sunk, frown]

And wrinkled lip and sneer of cold command

Tell that it’s got to well those passions road [sculptor, read]

Which yet survive stamped on these lifeless things

The hand that mocked them and the heart of the third [that fed]

And on the pedestal these words appear

My name is of him and he is King of Kings [Ozymandias]

Look on my works the mighty and despair [ye]

Nothing beside remains round the decay

Of that colossal wreck boundless and there [bare]

The lone and level sands stretch far away.

Considering I’m using the free Windows software, this was the first thing I voice-typed and it will get better the more I train it, the above actually isn’t too bad–some lines were even word-for-word correct. I then did one of the training things that they have, where you read their pre-prepared text so the speech-recognition can get more used to your voice. The problem with that is that they tell you to use your normal speaking voice, but as soon as I’m told to read something aloud I put on my Public Speaking voice; which sounds like…

“The train at platform one is the eleven twenty-eight, First Great Eastern service to… London King’s Cross. Calling at Royston, Hitchin, Stevenage, Welwyn North, Welwyn Garden City, Ashwell & Morden, and… London King’s Cross, only.”

Also, I can tell homonyms are going to be a problem with it, as well as names I’ve made up–maybe even less common names in general. But it has improved even after only a short time using it–for example:

It was a scroll, a skeleton, walking towards them and the remains of the shrouds that had once been a very extravagant, expensive—it had to have been, but what remained of it now was nothing more than shreds hanging off the shoulder bones of the undead creature.

Which was meant to be:

It was a skull, a skeleton, walking towards them in the remains of the shroud that had once been very extravagant, expensive–it had to have been, but what remained of it now was nothing more than shreds hanging off the shoulder bones of the undead creature.

Only a few small errors. (I particularly like how it recognised ‘undead’, but Word underlined it in red anyway).

And yet I drew this series of cartoons anyway because it amused me…

Speech Recognition 1 Speech Recognition 2 Speech Recognition 3

I don’t know why my laptop wants to be the next Dan Brown of all people. Truly, it is a sick and twisted device…

4 thoughts on “Don’t You Understand What I’m Comma Trying To Say?

  1. W.R.Gingell says:

    Please don’t be the next Dan Brown! One is MORE than enough! I’m glad you’re experimenting with this, cos I wanted to know about it and now I can learn via you instead of making all the mistakes myself! Hooray!

    Liked by 1 person

    • rachelloon says:

      It’s been pretty fun so far; but I need to train myself to it as much as I need to train it to me–having to say punctuation marks out loud as well as the actual text and such, plus other things, like saying ‘caps’ before a word you want capitalised that wouldn’t normally have been and a few other quirks. But for simple stuff it’s definitely faster than typing by hand… I just wish my ears were better suited to wearing headphones…

      Liked by 1 person

  2. W.R.Gingell says:

    On a side note, I seem to have a slight problem with exclamation marks tonight…

    Like

Leave a Reply

