#NationalPoetryDay : The Snail (A Self-Portrait)

Just like me to post a poem the day BEFORE the day that turns out to be National Poetry Day. Well, once I heard someone at work mention it, I just had to write another one; and when you’ve been looking forward to another day of entering files onto a spreadsheet, writing poetry just ends up a chore, let me tell you!

Anyway, read on for the answer I know you’ve all been waiting for to the burning question of ‘why does this person identify with snails so much’? Enjoy it; it’s more upbeat than my usual offerings 😉

*~*~*

The Snail (A Self-Portrait)

*

At the speed of slate and dressed in black,

I carry a world upon my back;

In a waterproofed pack (while I get wet).

The end of the book is a long way yet.

There’s awe in the shell, if not in the face,

And I, the King of Infinite Space–

The most awkward creature you’ve ever met!

*~*~*

Me-Snail

*~*~*

In other news, I’ve just added this year’s novel to my NaNo page; so if you’re doing NaNoWriMo, and especially if you’re doing history, supernatural or generally weird shit next month, feel free to look me up–I’m Rachelloon there too.

Leave a Reply

